BJP candidate Munirathna won by a margin of 57,672 votes from RR Nagara assembly seat, defeating Congress candidate Kusuma and JD-S candidate Krishnamurthy. In Sira, BJP’s Rajesh Gowda beat Congress’ Jayachandra by 12,949 votes. It is an election that Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa had to win at any cost to save his chair.

Although the bypolls do not mean much to the ruling BJP in Karnataka that already enjoys a comfortable majority, it is seen as critical for chief minister B S Yediyurappa to strengthen his position in the party, amid the talks of change in leadership.