BANGALORE: BJP’s Jogupalya Ward’s corporator Gautam Kumar has been elected as the 53rd mayor of Bangalore.

There are a total of 257 in the BBMP. BJP has 125, Congress 104, JDS 21 and 7 independent,    The magic number for mayor is 129. BJP’s 125 and 5 independent voted. 129 votes were cast in favor of Gautam Kumar.