Senior BJP legislator Nand Kishore Yadav likely to be the new speaker of the Bihar assembly, sources said on Monday. In the outgoing assembly, JD(U)’s Vijay Kumar Chaudhary was the speaker. Chaudhary has taken oath as a minister. Yadav has served as a minister in all the previous NDA governments in Bihar. He was the minister for the Road Construction Department in the last government.

The BJP has emerged as the largest party within the ruling coalition with 74 seats, while Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’ JD(U) has a strength of 43. The BJP has also got two deputy chief ministers in the new cabinet with Tarkishore Prasad and Renu Devi taking oath for the posts