Election Commission of India (ECI),  announced to hold by-elections in Karnataka next mont
The Byelections will be held on October 21 in 15 constituencies, recently vacated by rebel MLAs (Member of Legislative Assembly) of Congress and Janata Dal (Secular). The counting will happen in the same week on October 24.
To recall, MLAs from Congress-JDS coalition government, citing non-co-operation from former CM HD Kumaraswamy in terms of allocation of funds to their respective constituencies, resigned from their posts in July 2019.
After several days of confusion over the resignations, the Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar under Anti-Defection Law disqualified 17 members (13 from Congres, 3 from JDS and one independent) from participating elections till the end of the current 15th Assembly (2018-23), provided there is no midterm poll in Karnataka.

As per the notification, ECI will be holding the by-elections for the 15 of the 17 vacated constituencies including Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Yellapur, Hirekerur, Ranibennur, Vijayanagara, Chikkaballapura, K R Pura, Yeshvanthapura, Mahalakshmi Layout, Shivajinagar, Hosakote, Krishnarajpet and Hunsur in Karnataka.

There is no word on the by-elections for the two constituencies Maski and Rajarajeshwarinagar vacated by Pratap Gouda Patil and Muniratna.

All the disqualified MLAs have filed a petition in the Apex court to overturn the disqualification order. The next hearing is slated to take place on September 23.

The notification for the by-elections will go live on September 23 and the last date for filing nominations is on September 30.
The scrutiny of the nomination is on October 1 and the last date for withdrawing the candidature is October 3. The last date for completion of the entire election process is on October 27.