Bengal sees nearly 80% voter turnout in sixth phase

According to the Election Commission, 79.09 per cent voter turnout was recorded till 5 pm in 43 seats where polling was held and is expected to go up further as the polling ended at 6.30 pm.

Elections, which began at 7 am, were held in 43 seats — 17 in North 24 Parganas district, nine each in Nadia — including Matua strongholds at Bongaon and Krishnanagar and Uttar Dinajpur and eight in Purba Bardhaman.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *